What's New

Katie’s cool, but what was wrong with Charlie’s team?

Explore
Characters Locations Magic Canon Events Things Creatures Essays
The Harry Potter Canon

By

This afternoon I read an email from someone asking about a note we’d put on Katie Bell’s page. Apparently there is some confusion about how old Katie was when she joined the Gryffindor Quidditch team, specifically if she had been on the reserve team in her first year. My first reaction was to check the Hogwarts Team page to see exactly who was on the team which years, but as I read that page over I realized that it was not up to date and didn’t include all the information I was hoping to find.

So I spent the last four hours researching and rewriting the entire Gryffindor section of that page. Now you’ll find a complete list of Gryffindor players including what year they were in when they started and the years they played. No, Katie was not a first year reserve player as some have incorrectly guessed (that was Alicia who was on the reserve team the year before Harry joined, and she was a second year at that time). Katie was a second year and playing in her first ever match at the same time Harry was in early November of 1991. Of course, he was so scared that he never noticed how nervous she was, poor thing…and then she took a Bludger to the back of the head shortly after the start of the match!

It is interesting to note a few glaring inconsistencies in the books. They are noted on that page. It’s possible to invent complicated explanations for some of the references, but I think it’s much more likely that Rowling simply didn’t have all the timeline details worked out when she wrote those parts. I hope that the next revision of the books will include some modification of these problem passages.

Commentary

Pensieve (Comments)

  • Paul

    Checking the page, I noticed the note about the match schedules saying “The Christmas break falls between Hufflepuff’s first two matches, and the Easter break falls between Slytherin’s last two.”
    Shouldn’t that be Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff, respectively?

  • auntypsycho

    I spotted a mistake!! You have said that Slytherin won the cup 7 years in a row up to 1991 in the gryffindor bit (as Wood states in PS) . then in the Slytherin bit you say that Slytherin won the cup 7 years in a row until Gryffindor won in 1994 . shouldn’t that be they won the cup 9 years in a row as they won it 2 more times after Harry joined the team?

  • Reader2

    As I look at the page, I still don’t see Coote and Peaks, the most recent beaters.

    Do you have anything against those two?

    Also, on the neighbouring Slytherin page, I don’t see Harper and Urquhart. Slytherin timeline is just as confusing as Gryffindor one.

  • Steve

    The comment that Slytherin has won for the last seven years was made during Harry’s first year: If they won their next match, against Hufflepuff, they would overtake Slytherin in the house championship for the first time in seven years…

    And again: The idea of overtaking Slytherin in the house championship was wonderful, no one had done it for seven years, but would they be allowed to, with such a biased referee?

    So at that point, Slytherin has won the cup for seven years straight. This is the 1991-92 season, so that means Slytherin won:
    90-91
    89-90
    88-89
    87-88
    86-87
    85-86
    84-85

    Slytherin won again in 1991-92 to make it 8 years in a row.

    However, at the beginning of the 1993-1994 season, Wood says: “Gryffindor hasn’t won for seven years now…”

    In fact, they haven’t won in nine years, but the competition was cancelled the year before. This is a bit of a complicated mess, as you can see. If we allow for an interpretation of the 1991-1992 comments as meaning that if they win that year it will be seven in a row, then we can assume that Wood is ignoring the canceled year and that it works out that Gryffindor won in 1984-85, which is that first year that Charlie could have been on the team.

    Whew…

    Steve

  • Ralph

    Couple of points:
    The best player of a team is not always the Team’s captains. Charlie may have been there best player however he may not have had the desire or talent to be captain. IOW, he may not have been a leader. Also, some players on the last team before Harry may have needed a year to get really good at playing.

  • Isabel Nunes

    I’m asolutely awed at the amount of detail you people know. I don’t think I could ever match half your knowledge.

    Wretched translator

  • Marco

    It is also possible, that Charlie Weasley had finished school regularly after his 7th year, but had quit to play Quidditsch prematurely,probably due to any injury or because he got too heavy to play Seeker. Charlie is described as short and stocky, and such a stature is not advantageous to play Seeker.

    To the Syltherin-Team:

    It is interisting, that Urquhart was made Captain in Harrys 6th year, although he was brandnew in team. Urquhart is Chaser, but the Chasers in Harrys 5th year were Montague, Warrington and Pucey.

    This means, that Montague, Warrington, Pucey as well a the Keeper Bletchley were out of team and most likely also out of school in Harrys 6th year. Malfoy had probably also never played in Harrys 6th year due to his task, and Crabbe and Goyle are of course too moronic to be captain, provided that they were in team at all in Harrys 6th year.

  • Reader2

    Marco, you’ve touched an interesting question.

    Crabbe and Goyle, were working for Draco as lookouts.

    When Draco missed the match against Gryffindore, Harry saw him head for the castle with two girls.

    Later, Harry announced with some certainty that those girls were really Crabbe and Goyle in disguise.

    That suggests that Crabbe and Goyle were not playing in that game either.

    I think Harry would notice if they were there, a few shoots of a bludger to the head would surely get his attention.

    If Draco missed other games as well, than so must’ve Crabbe and Goyle.

  • Desolate Joker

    Just an idea to think about; Charlie said they hadn’t overtaken SLYTHERIN in the house cup in 7 years. It’s altogether possible that Ravenclaw or Hufflepuff won championships and Grfyndor still finished behind Slytherin in the final standings.

  • Pat Pat

    Question: Maybe this has been asked and answered before and I didn’t see it, but are we sure that the quote “they would overtake Slytherin in the House Championship for the first time in seven years” means that Gryffindor hadn’t won the QUIDDITCH CUP in seven years? Or does it simply mean that they hadn’t won the end-of-the-year House Championship in seven years. After all, JKR has never indicated that the house that wins the Quidditch cup is sure to win the House Championship. In fact, in Harry’s first year, Gryffindor lost the Quidditch cup yet won the House Cup. If she is only referring to the House Cup here then this could change many things.

  • Lav Lav

    OMG! i just totally realized that your right! i mean, i didn’t exactly check all over the books, but it wasn’t exactly precise, was it?
    JKR has been known to be impricise(i’ll never be able to spell that word!!!) about things. she didn’t mention until later that harry had been sick for the last match, in PS, did she? (im probably wrong). Besides, Wood is only a fifth year when this starts!

Sources