During the Twentieth Century, the wizarding community deals with two major conflicts, each of which is instigated by a Dark Wizard of prodigious power. In each of these conflicts, the risk of exposure to the Muggles is great. And in each case, one person stands in the end against evil and is victorious: Dumbledore over Grindelwald in 1945 and Harry Potter over Voldemort in 1998. After the second of these uprisings, the Ministry of Magic is reorganized and improved as the Twenty-First Century dawns.

The Rise of Grindelwald – 1900 – 1945
Calm between Wars – 1945 – 1960
The Marauders and the Rise of Voldemort – 1960 – 1981
Voldemort in Hiding – 1981 – 1990

The Second Rise and Defeat of Voldemort:

1991-1992 – Harry’s first year (PS)
1992-1993 – Harry’s second year (CS)
1993-1994 – Harry’s third year (PA)
1994-1995 – Harry’s fourth year (GF)
1995-1996 – Harry’s fifth year (OP)
1996-1997 – Harry’s sixth year (HBP)
1997-1998 – Harry’s seventh year (DH)

The Post-War Years
The Next Generation

The Tutshill Tornados Quidditch team were dominant over the British and Irish Quidditch League in the early 1900s and had a record-breaking five consecutive League Cup wins. They were captained to all five by their famous Seeker, Roderick Plumpton (QA7). Read More
The Australian National Team, along with their star Chaser, Royston Idlewind, won this Quidditch World Cup tournament (Pm). Read More
This Quidditch World Cup tournament is better known as the World Cup of “Royston Idlewind and the Dissimulators“, following a controversial wand ban. The final match was played between Syria and Madagascar, and was won by the Syrian National Team (Pm). Read More
The Canadian team beat the Scots in a very close final match. Scottish Seeker Hector Lamont blamed his failure to catch the Snitch on genetics (Pm). Read More
The game is brutal and so fast-paced that Ludo Bagman’s commentary can barely keep up. The Bulgarian National Team’s young seeker, Viktor Krum, uses his excellent flying skills to catch the Snitch, doing so despite his team being down more than 150 in order to avoid further humiliation at the… Read More
This Quidditch World Cup tournament was notable for: the heightened security measures put in place because of the chaos following the appearance of the Dark Mark at the 1994 Quidditch World Cup; being only the second all-Africa final (Senegal v Malawi); and the arrest of the Senegalese team mascots (… Read More
The final match in the 2002 tournament was played between Egypt and Bulgaria. After the Seeker Rawya Zaghloul caught the Snitch (Egypt won by 450 points to Bulgaria’s 300), defeated Bulgarian Seeker Viktor Krum announced his retirement from international Quidditch (Pm). Read More
The team from Burkina Faso won this Quidditch World Cup tournament against the side from France by 300 points to 220. After the excitement of winning died down, Seeker Joshua Sankara relinquished his new position as Burkina Faso’s Minister for Magic in favour of continuing his Quidditch career (Pm). Read More
The final was an exciting three-day long match between the Chinese National side and a team from Moldova, and was eventually won by China (Pm). Read More
The final match of the 2014 tournament took place between the national teams of Brazil and Bulgaria on 11 July 2014. This extremely exciting and emotional match ended when veteran Bulgarian Seeker Viktor Krum caught the Snitch, ensuring that Bulgaria won by 160 points to 70 (Pm). Read More