Characters Locations Magic Canon Events Things Creatures Essays
The Harry Potter Canon

Part of the United Kingdom and, along with Scotland, the place where the entire Harry Potter series is based.

Major Locations in England:

Durham Castle, England

  • Brockdale Bridge
  • Budleigh Babberton
  • cave
  • Godric’s Hollow
  • Great Hangleton, including a police station
  • Little Hangleton, including:
    • the Gaunt House
    • a graveyard
    • the Hanged Man
    • the Riddle House
  • Little Whinging (click here for a list of locations within Little Whinging)
  • London (click here for a list of locations within London)
  • Malfoy Manor
  • Ottery St. Catchpole, including:
    • the Burrow
    • a paper shop
    • a post office
    • Stoatshead Hill

English Counties Referenced in the Books:

  • Brookshire, including Crawford
  • Cokeworth, including the Railview Hotel
  • Cornwall, including Bodmin Moor and Falmouth
  • Devon, including Chudley, Exmoor, Ilfracombe, Ottery St. Catchpole, and Topsham
  • Dorset, including Millburn and Wimbourne
  • Hampshire, including Little Dropping and Portsmouth
  • Herefordshire
  • Kent
  • Lancashire, including Blackpool Pier
  • Norfolk
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire, including Nettlebed
  • Somerset, including Bath, Exmoor, and the Modesty Rabnott Golden Snidget Reservation
  • Surrey, including Little Whinging and a zoo
  • Wight, Isle of
  • Wiltshire, including the Malfoy Manor
  • Worcestershire, including an Herbe Garden
  • Yorkshire, including Barnsley, Ilkley Moor, and probably Great and Little Hangleton

Other Locations in England:

  • Appleby
  • Avalon
  • Barnton
  • Birmingham
  • Bristol
  • Chipping Clodbury
  • Cotswolds
  • Didsbury
  • Eton
  • Liverpool
  • Maidenhead
  • meeting hall
  • Painswick
  • St. Brutus’s Secure Center for Incurably Criminal Boys
  • Smeltings School
  • Stonewall High
  • Upper Barnton
  • West Country
  • Wimbourne Minster
  • Woodcroft
  • Wye River


Tags: culture (Muggle) culture (Wizard) cultures home maps