Quidditch Teams of Britain and Ireland

Quidditch Teams of Britain and Ireland

The Quidditch teams from the Republic of Ireland and the four countries of the United Kingdom form the British and Irish League. The UK is comprised of Great Britain (EnglandScotland and Wales) and Northern Ireland. Although part of Europe, the Republic of Ireland plays Quidditch within the British and Irish League.

The British and Irish League was formed in 1674 when it became difficult to keep the many teams and their matches hidden from the Muggles. The thirteen best teams formed the League and the others were asked to disband. The League teams compete annually for the League Cup (OP7, QA7PmDP1, DP2, DP3, DP4).

Known teams in the United Kingdom and Ireland:



Northern Ireland



Hogwarts School teams




In the Muggle world, Ireland and Northern Ireland field distinct national teams. However, there are currently no canon references to a separate Northern Irish side.

Although the dates printed on the Daily Prophet Newsletters are DP1: 31 July 1998, DP2: 8 February 1999, DP3: 1 June 1999 and DP4: 1 October 1999, the timeframe for those events is 1992-1993.

Pensieve (Comments)

Tags: competitions/competitors international league table match Quidditch history teams

Editors: and